Hampshire Cultural Trust

Welcome to Hampshire

This map pinpoints some of the most exciting cultural venues in Hampshire.

We will showcase, connect and empower its creative economy

Exhibitions

 The West End Centre regularly exhibits a wide range of work. Entrance is free to all exhibitions and private views.


VISIONS OF THE STREET: JACKY PAYNTER & ROB LOWTHIAN

Tuesday 3 - Friday 27 October

Art versus photography. Which does it for you? An artist and a photographer collaborated to create a joint vision of street scenes, some on their doorstep and others worldwide. The result may surprise you. 


OPEN EXHIBITION

Monday 13 November - Friday 8 December. Private view on Monday 13 November, 7-9pm

Our annual exhibition showcasing talent from near and far, open to artists of all ages, shapes and sizes - working in any medium. 

  • Submit up to two pieces
  • No charge for submission (however we do take a 20% commission on all work sold)
  • Please note that all work must be framed and ready for hanging, with hooks or glass plates attached. 

 

Drop off your work: Friday 3 & Saturday 4 November, 10am-6pm

Collect your work: Saturday 9 - Friday 15 December, 10am-6pm (excl. Sunday 10 December).


STEPHEN CRITCHLEY

Monday 8 January – Friday 2 February. Private View Mon 8 Jan, 7-9pm
 
 

DRAWN TOGETHER BY HOPE

Tuesday 6 February – Thursday 1 March.
A series of photographs by local young people, exploring mental health. 
This is part of The ICE Project, a partnership between Hampshire Cultural Trust and Hampshire’s Child & Adolescent Mental Health Service (CAMHS) to promote the use of arts for positive emotional well-being and self-expression.
 

ESTHER PRITCHARD

Tuesday 6 March - Thursday 29 March. Private view Tuesday 6 March, 7-9pm
I am living proof that creativity lurks beyond the craziness of parenting little humans. I have recently enjoyed a new season of creativity and consider it a blessing to spend time painting.  I am a self-taught oil painter, inspired by English coastlines. I aim to capture the power of light, both in subtle and dramatic form, as well as aspiring to grasp the expanse of sea and sky.
 

REINVENTING THE WHEEL MK2: Erica Arnold & Graham Snuggs

Wednesday 4 April – Friday  27 April. Private View 4 April, 7-9pm
Fully Fashioned Findings returns to the WEC with another extraordinary and interactive exhibition of the found and fabricated. At the centre of ‘Reinventing the wheel Mk2’ is the marvellous machine that with visitors’ help, creates fantastic painted fabrics to be transformed week by week into one amazing suit of clothes. The more times you work the machine, the more frenetic the print becomes.
 

Westy Classes & Tutors

Tuesday 8 May – Wednesday 30 May. Private View Fri 4 May, 7-9pm
 

HORIZON 20:20 MORE & BETTER 17/18 – A VISUAL STORY

Tuesday 5 June – Thursday 21 June. Private View Tues 5 June, 7-9pm

Horizon 20:20 More & Better is an arts intervention programme running in seven alternative provision education settings in Hampshire. The aim of the project is to prove the positive impact that arts and culture has on young people within non-mainstream education.

This programme has been running since September 2016 and already there has been a whole array of exciting and inspiring activity taking place. Hampshire Cultural Trust’s ‘Better Life Chances’ Team invite you to come and see what the young people, teachers and artists involved have been up to this past year. Main funders are Paul Hamlyn Foundation and Hampshire Cultural Trust.


SEVEN

Monday 25 June – Sunday 22 July. Private View Sat 23 June, 7-9pm
A group show of new works by ‘relatively’ local artists: Kazland, Rob Halhead-baker, Ziggy Hill, Sian Storey, Bex parker, Kev Munday, Katie Smith.